FAQ

What is an Iluma house?

An Iluma house is, above all, about choosing a well-conceived and well-designed ecofriendly home. It is a house built with the highest quality standards so that you can enjoy comfortable and healthy spaces. It is a new ecological home that is certified Novoclimat and benefits from the Residential Construction Guarantee plan (GCR).

Do the prices shown include the lot?

The price does not include the lot. The price shown only includes the house and its foundations.

What should be added to the price of the house to have the project’s total cost?

You should add the price of the lot, as well as its preparation for construction and related services: tree removal, driveway, excavation, wells and septic systems, electrical connection, landscaping. Taxes (GST, QST) must also be added.

Finally, if you opt for a ready-to-finish home, you also need to calculate the cost of your interior finishes.

Is the foundation included?

The foundation is always included in the price of our houses, whether it is a turnkey or ready-to-finish home.

What is the difference between the ready-to-finish and turnkey price?

Turnkey means that we take care of the entire build from A to Z.

Ready-to-finish means that we build the house up to the drywall and jointing stage.

Therefore, we take care of everything up to that stage: services for the lot, excavation, foundations, framework, roofing and exterior cladding, interior and mechanical division (ventilation, plumbing, electricity). Put simply, we take care of everything that has an impact on the performance, quality and durability of your home. What remains in your hands are the interior finishes such as floor covering, interior doors, moldings, primer and paint, built-in furniture, staircase finishes.

Can I just have the shell of the house built for me?

Yes, for that you would opt for a ready-to-finish home. With this option, we build the shell with all the mechanics (plumbing, ventilation, electricity) as well as the exterior cladding.

To ensure quality and energy performance, we do not offer the so-called “ready-to-use” framework. The mechanics and the exterior cladding have a lot to do with the integrity of the shell and therefore have an impact on the durability and efficiency of the house. That’s why we always want to manage them.

Are the walls pre-engineered walls?

All of our homes are built on site directly, so we don’t use prefabricated walls. It is a choice we carefully made, dictated by experience (we have built with pre-machined walls in the past) and by several criterias that are specific to our company’s philosophy: reduced impact on the lot, quality of the results, use of rigorous techniques and better deadline management, construction by our own teams.

What is the Novoclimat certification?

Novoclimat is a program that promotes the construction of high energy efficiency buildings. Novoclimat contractors are trained and certified, as are the program evaluators who are trained and mandated by Transition Énergie Québec. Each Novoclimat house follows rigorous construction standards. Novoclimat designates a third party evaluator who is independent from your manufacturer, that will inspect, measure and judge the work carried out. The inspection takes place twice during the building process. Novoclimat grants you financial assistance of $2000 to $4000 upon approval.

This certification is a guarantee of quality, comfort and trust. 

What is a passive solar house?

The idea with passive solar energy is to take advantage of the free and phenomenal energy given by the sun to us day after day in order to heat the home. We are not talking about solar panels or technological additions, but more in terms of orientation, high efficiency windows and certain other elements that must be designed with care. Building your home so that it becomes a passive solar habitat allows you to live in a bright and comfortable home all year round and to considerably reduce your energy bill.

Are your house plans for sale?

As we are a contractor first and foremost, we do not sell house plans.

Are your house plans customizable?

Yes! We can make adjustments to the house plans to better suit your lifestyle and needs. The changes can be minor or major. Depending on your needs, your advisor will tell you about the modification packages available. If you would rather have a custom and tailor-made design, we have an in-house design department. Belvedair, the parent company and contractor who designed the Iluma projects, has also been a designer since 2011 of totally tailor-made ecofriendly homes.

Do you have land that allows short-term rentals?

At this time, we do not have any land with zoning by-laws that allow short-term rentals. But this may change so please stay tuned!

Do you have any model homes to visit?

Currently, our last model homes have been sold and we have no further scheduled visits at this time. We expect to have some in our next developments.

What are the deadlines for building?

A good start is to roughly count two months for planning your project and a minimum of four months for construction.

The time required for a construction varies from one house to another (dimensions, finishes, characteristics…), from one site to another (constraints, access, topography…) and even from one city to another (permit granting deadlines) or from one season to another (meteorological constraints).

Your advisor will be able to give you an estimate during the planning stage, then as you approach the construction phase, you will receive a schedule from your construction project manager as well as regular follow-ups during the process.

Are Iluma homes guaranteed?

Yes, Iluma homes are covered under the Residential Construction Guarantee (GCR) Warranty Plan.

Is it possible to build on our own lot?

Yes, of course!

What regions do you serve?

We serve regions where we have permanent teams and know that we can provide both the quality of service and attention that you expect and deserve. Generally speaking, we cover a perimeter of 1.5 hours from Montreal. If you are not certain if your sector is within this perimeter, please give us a call and an advisor can discuss it directly with you!

Are you a general contractor?

Yes. Iluma is a service created by Belvedair. Belvedair is a general eco-contractor specialized exclusively in green construction and has been in business since 2011. We provide house plans, land, custom designs and eco-constructions.

FAQ

Qu’est-ce qu’une maison Iluma?

Une maison Iluma, c’est avant tout faire le choix d’une maison écologique bien pensée et conçue. C’est une maison construite selon les plus hauts standards de qualité dans laquelle vous profitez d’espaces confortables et sains. Une maison neuve écologique certifiée Novoclimat et bénéficiant du plan de Garantie de Construction résidentielle (GCR).

Est-ce que les prix affichés incluent le terrain?

Le prix affiché n’inclut pas le terrain. Ce prix inclut seulement la maison, y compris ses fondations.

Que faut-il ajouter au prix des maisons pour avoir le montant global du projet?

Il faut ajouter le prix du terrain, ainsi que sa préparation en vue de la construction et les services s’y rattachant : déboisement, entrée charretière, excavation, puits et installations septiques, raccord électrique, paysagement. Il faut également ajouter les taxes (TPS, TVQ).

Enfin, si vous optez pour une maison “prête à finir”, il vous faut également prévoir un budget pour réaliser vos finitions intérieures.

Est-ce que la fondation est incluse?

La fondation est en effet toujours incluse dans le prix de nos maisons, que ce soit pour du “clé en main” ou pour du “prêt à finir”.

Quelle est la différence entre le prix “prêt à finir” et “clé en main”?

Le “clé en main” signifie que nous nous occupons de tout le chantier de A à Z. 

Le “prêt à finir” signifie que nous vous livrons la maison après l’étape du gypse et des joints. 

Nous nous occupons donc de tout ce qui est : services pour le terrain, excavation, puis fondations, charpente, toiture et revêtement extérieur ; division intérieures et mécanique (ventilation, plomberie, électricité). Nous nous occupons donc de tout ce qui a un impact sur la performance, la qualité et la durabilité de votre maison. 

Ce qui reste à gérer ou à faire par vous, est relatif aux finitions intérieures, comme les finis de planchers, portes intérieures, moulures, apprêt et peinture, mobilier intégré, finition d’escalier.

Est-ce que je peux me faire construire seulement la coquille de la maison?

Nous proposons les maisons Iluma en “prêt à finir” ou en “clé en main”. En “prêt à finir”, nous construisons la coquille avec toute la mécanique (plomberie, ventilation, électricité) ainsi que le revêtement extérieur. 

Par souci de qualité et de performance énergétique de la maison, nous ne proposons pas seulement la charpente dite “prête aux corps de métiers”. La mécanique et le revêtement extérieur ont beaucoup de liens avec l’intégrité de l’enveloppe, donc avec la durabilité et l’efficacité de la maison. C’est pourquoi nous souhaitons toujours les prendre en charge.

Est-ce qu’il s’agit de murs pré-usinés?

Toutes nos maisons sont construites sur site directement. Nous n’utilisons donc pas de murs pré-usinés.

C’est un choix mûrement réfléchi, dicté par notre expérience (nous avons bâti avec des murs pré-usinés par le passé) et par plusieurs critères qui nous sont propres :  impact amoindri sur le terrain, qualité du résultat, maîtrise des techniques et des échéanciers, construction par nos propres équipes.

Qu’est-ce que la Certification Novoclimat?

Novoclimat est un programme qui encourage la construction de bâtiments à haute efficacité énergétique. Les entrepreneurs Novoclimat sont formés et homologués, tout comme les évaluateurs du programme, qui sont formés et mandatés par Transition Énergétique Québec. De plus, chaque maison suit des normes rigoureuses et est inspectée deux fois par un évaluateur indépendant pour établir sa performance énergétique. Finalement, Novoclimat vous accorde une aide financière de 2000 à 4000 $, lors de l’homologation.

Cette certification est pour vous, un gage de qualité, de confort et de confiance.

Qu’est-ce qu’une maison solaire passive?

Le solaire passif, c’est profiter de l’énergie, gratuite et phénoménale, que nous envoie le soleil jour après jour, pour chauffer la maison. On ne parle pas ici de panneaux solaires ou d’ajouts technologiques, mais bien d’orientation, de fenestration adéquate et certains autres éléments qui doivent être bien conçus. Bien penser sa maison afin qu’elle soit un habitat solaire passif, permet de vivre dans un lieu lumineux et confortable été comme hiver, avec des factures en énergie considérablement réduites.

Est-ce que vos plans sont à vendre?

Nous ne proposons pas de plans à vendre. Nous sommes un écoentrepreneur avant tout !

Est-ce que vos plans sont personnalisables?

Oui ! Nous pouvons apporter des ajustements aux plans afin de mieux s’adapter à votre mode de vie et à vos besoins. Les modifications peuvent être mineures ou majeures : selon les cas, votre conseiller vous indiquera les possibilités. Nous possédons un service de plans à l’interne. Par ailleurs, si vous cherchez plus du sur mesure, sachez que Belvedair, entrepreneur qui signe les projets Iluma, est aussi concepteur depuis 2011 d’habitats écologiques totalement sur mesure.

Avez-vous des terrains qui permettent la location à court terme?

Pour l’instant, nous n’avons pas de terrains avec une réglementation de zonage permettant la location à court terme. À suivre…

Avez-vous des maisons modèles à visiter?

Actuellement, nos dernières maisons modèles ont été vendues. Nous n’avons plus pour l’instant d’autres visites programmées. Nous prévoyons en avoir dans nos prochains développements. 

Quels sont les délais pour construire?

Un bon indicatif en partant est de prévoir : pour planifier votre projet, un minimum deux mois. Pour les délais de construction, un minimum de quatre mois.

Néanmoins, le temps requis pour une construction varie d’une maison à l’autre (dimensions, finitions, caractéristiques…), d’un terrain à l’autre (contraintes, accès, relief…) et même d’une Ville à l’autre (délais d’octroi des permis) ou d’une saison à l’autre (contraintes météorologiques).

Votre conseiller pourra vous donner un aperçu lors de la planification, puis à l’approche du chantier, vous recevrez un échéancier de la part de votre chargé de projets construction, ainsi que des suivis réguliers pendant le chantier.

Les maisons Iluma sont-elles garanties?

Oui, les maisons Iluma sont couvertes par le plan de garantie de la Garantie Construction Résidentielle (GCR). 

Est-il possible de construire sur notre propre terrain?

Oui tout à fait !

Quelles régions desservez-vous?

Nous couvrons un périmètre d’environ 1h30 autour de Montréal. Nous desservons les régions où nous avons des équipes permanentes et savons que nous pourrons fournir un service et une attention à la hauteur de vos attentes. Si vous avez une ambiguïté quant à votre secteur, appelez-nous et un conseiller pourra en discuter avec vous !

Êtes-vous entrepreneur général?

Oui. Iluma est un service créé par Belvedair. Belvedair est un écoentrepreneur général spécialisé exclusivement en construction écologique, et à l’œuvre depuis 2011. Nous proposons plans, terrains, conception sur mesure et écoconstruction.